STATE OF CONNECTICUT HEALTH AND EDUCATIONAL FACILITIES AUTHORITY Grant Committee Special Meeting Minutes June 17, 2020

The Grant Committee of the State of Connecticut Health and Educational Facilities Authority held a special meeting via teleconference at 12:00 p.m. on Wednesday, June 17, 2020.¹

The special meeting was called to order by Dr. Estela Lopez, Committee Chair, at 12:05 p.m. and upon roll call, those present and absent were as follows:

PRESENT:	Dr. Estela Lopez, Committee Chair Peter Lisi, Board Chair Anne Foley Barbara B. Lindsay, Esq.
ALSO PRESENT:	Jeanette W. Weldon, Executive Director Denise Aguilera, General Counsel Robert Blake, Network and Data Architect Debrah Galli, Manager, Administrative Services Daniel Giungi, Communications and Government Affairs Specialist Eileen MacDonald, Senior Transaction Specialist JoAnne Mackewicz, Controller Michael Morris, Managing Director Cynthia D. Peoples-H, Managing Director Kara Stuart, Administrative Services Assistant Betty Sugerman Weintraub, Grant Program Manager of Connecticut Health and Educational Facilities Authority

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Dr. Lopez requested a motion to approve the minutes of the May 20, 2020 Grant Committee Special Meeting. Mr. Lisi moved for approval of the minutes, which was seconded by Ms. Foley.

Upon a voice vote, the "Ayes," "Nays" and "Abstentions" were as follows:

AYES	
Anne Foley	
Barbara Lindsay	
Peter Lisi	
Dr. Estela Lopez	

<u>NAYS</u> None ABSTENTIONS None

EXECUTIVE SESSION – Attorney-Client Privileged Communication - Parliamentary Procedure

Dr. Lopez requested a motion to go into Executive Session at 12:10 p.m. to discuss the Attorney-Client Privileged Communication - Parliamentary Procedure. Mr. Lisi moved to go into Executive Session and Ms. Foley seconded the motion.

Upon a voice vote, the "Ayes," "Nays" and "Abstentions" were as follows:

¹ All attendees participated in the meeting via conference telephone that permitted all parties to hear each other

AYES Anne Foley Barbara Lindsay Peter Lisi Dr. Estela Lopez NAYS None ABSTENTIONS None

At 12:11 p.m. all Board members left the telephonic meeting to attend the Executive Session via a separate telephonic meeting number.

All Board members returned to the telephonic meeting at 12:36 p.m.

REVIEW OF FY 2021 CHEFA COVID-19 GRANT APPLICATIONS

Dr. Lopez thanked Ms. Sugerman Weintraub and Ms. Weldon for responding to the COVID-19 crisis by replacing the FY 2021 three typical grant cycles with a FY 2021 COVID-19 Grant Awards Program created to respond to the crisis. Dr. Lopez stated the criteria focused on statewide programs to support Connecticut communities and residents or were sector specific statewide funds focused on CHEFA's four core priority areas of healthcare, education, childcare, and cultural. Dr. Lopez reported there were 35 grant applications submitted and the Internal Review Committee (IRC) is recommending a total of fourteen grants totaling \$3 million.

Dr. Lopez stated the importance of the grant committee members to review and discuss the proposed grants. Dr. Lopez opened the floor to questions and a discussion ensued.

Mr. Lisi said he had a concern about not funding the cultural sector. Dr. Lopez recommended finding a way to fund the CT Humanities Council, an organization in the cultural sector that applied but was not on the list of Internal Review Committee proposed awards. Ms. Foley inquired if this would require taking funding away from other proposed grants. Dr. Lopez stated they would continue to review the other proposed grants to determine potential funds for CT Humanities Council, and the Committee could revisit this grant request later in the meeting.

Dr. Lopez said she was concerned with the CSCU System proposed grant, stating that if they received \$350,000 for 21,000 students, she was not certain it would provide a meaningful impact. Ms. Sugerman Weintraub reported on her discussion with the CSCU System, inquiring that if they were to receive less than their requested amount of \$1 million, which had already been revised from \$8 million, they would need to provide a process of how they would utilize the funds. CSCU System said they would look at a subset of students to receive the funds and a minimal amount of distribution would be \$100. Ms. Foley inquired if CSCU System could specify utilizing the funds on DACA (Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals) students. A brief discussion ensued.

Mr. Lisi referred to Ms. Foley's question regarding eliminating a proposed grant in order to fund the cultural sector. Mr. Lisi stated his concern with the proposed grant of \$100,000 for the CT Conference of Independent Colleges. With \$100,000 being divided by 15 schools, Mr. Lisi inquired about the impact these funds would have. Dr. Lopez recommended utilizing this \$100,000 to fund the CT Humanities Council grant instead. All grant committee board members agreed with this recommendation. A discussion ensued.

Mr. Lisi inquired about the CT Association for Community Action, Inc. being funded given its ranking. Ms. Sugerman Weintraub reiterated that the proposed awards were based on the

aggregate ranking by IRC members as well as an IRC consensus discussion. A brief discussion ensued.

Dr. Lopez requested a motion to approve the FY 2021 CHEFA COVID-19 Grant Program Awards with the modifications of asking the CSCU System to target DACA students with their funding, and to fund the CT Humanities Council for \$100,000 instead of the CT Conference of Independent Colleges. Mr. Lisi moved for approval of the FY 2021 CHEFA COVID-19 Grant Program Awards with these modifications, which was seconded by Ms. Lindsay.

Upon a voice vote, the "Ayes," "Nays" and "Abstentions" were as follows:

AYES	NAYS	ABSTENTIONS
Anne Foley	None	None
Barbara Lindsay		
Peter Lisi		
Dr. Estela Lopez		

Dr. Lopez thanked Ms. Sugerman Weintraub, Ms. Weldon and the IRC for their work and contributions.

ADJOURNMENT

Dr. Lopez requested a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Lisi moved to adjourn the meeting and Ms. Foley seconded the motion.

Upon a voice vote, the "Ayes," "Nays," and "Abstentions" were as follows:

AYES	NAYS	ABSTENTIONS
Anne Foley	None	None
Barbara Lindsay		
Peter Lisi		
Dr. Estela Lopez		

The meeting adjourned at 1:14 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

inittre. aplika

Jeanette Weldon Executive Director